2020 Citizenship Ceremonies

  • March 11

Dates are subject to change as required.

For futher information about Mount Barker District Council citizenship ceremonies, please contact Chloe Head telephone 8391 7238 or email to

For further information regarding citizenship, and to find answers to Frequently Asked Questions, visit the Department of Immigration & Citizenship (DIAC) website.

How will Council invite me to attend a Ceremony?

The Department of Immigration and Citizenship provides Council with a summary of eligible participants on a monthly basis (i.e. in the first week of the beginning of the month.)

Letters are sent by Council to all eligible participants approximately 4-6 weeks prior to the ceremony date, subject to vacancies.

It is important that you RSVP your attendance at a ceremony. This will ensure your certificate will be available for presentation.

For candidates taking a Citizenship Pledge under Oath, please bring the holy book or scripture of your choice. Council does not provide this.

Please arrive at least 20 minutes before the ceremony is scheduled to start to enable registration.

The ceremony will take approximately 45 minutes followed by an opportunity to share refreshments.  You are welcome to invite family and friends to share the occasion.

Please bring the letter you received from COUNCIL with you, as well as some form of photo identification. A current Australian driver's licence is ideal as this will also facilitate electoral enrolment.

The Electoral Enrolment Form is required to be completed regardless of whether you are currently on the electoral roll.

Candidates may be asked to sign a form giving their consent for photographs, video or film taken during the ceremony to be used for future citizenship promotional purposes.

Please contact the Department of Immigration- 131 880 if you have any questions about your Application Status.

Australia Day Awards- are now OPEN

Closing 15 November 2019

2019 Australia Day image

Selection Criteria

In choosing the recipients of the Australia Day Citizen of the Year Awards, regard is given to the nominee’s achievements in the year immediately prior to receiving the award, as well as their past achievements and ongoing contribution to the community.

A nominee need only be nominated once to be considered. The number of nominations received per nominee bears no weight in their selection.

The selection criteria for Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year are:

  • Significant contribution to the community
  • An inspirational role model for the Australian community
  • The scope of impact the individual’s contribution has on the local government area

Eligibility Criteria

Citizen of the Year Award: to be eligible, the person must be an Australian citizen.
Young Citizen of the Year Award: to be eligible, the person must be an Australian citizen under 30 years of age on January 26, 2019

Nominate HERE

2019 Award Winners

Citizen of the Year: Errol Crouch (Mount Barker
Young Citizen of the Year: Amos Washington (Mount Barker)
Event of the Year: Hahndorf Christmas Village
Mayoral Award: Sharon Johinke

Citizen of the Year 2019

Young Citzien of the Year 2019

Event of the Year 2019

Mayoral Award 2019

2018 Award Winners

Citizen of the Year: Brian and Teresa Johnson (Echunga)
Young Citizen of the Year: Mahayla Rose (Macclesfield) Mayors Award: Brock Hebberman (Mt Barker) & Alverna Ballard (Brukunga)
Event of the Year: Sculptors at Crystal Lake

2017 Award Winners

Citizen of the Year: Gary Parker (Meadows)
Young Cititzen of the Year: Sarah Hammond (Echunga)
Mayors Award: Annie Franken (Mount Barker)
Event of the Year: 2016 Carols in the Park

Australia Day Award Winners 2017