Callington was laid out as a town in 1849. John Kiernan driving a dray over an outcrop, noticed copper where the stone was crushed by the dray wheel. By 1857 the Bremer mine has been sold to the Worthing Mining Company based in England. Water in the mines led to the installation of a Cornish steam pumping engine in 1861 which pumped 468,000 gallons a day out of the mines. The main shaft of the Bremer mine reached 600 feet with side tunnels every 60 feet. Some remains of the mining era include the Explosives Hut, Settling Tanks, Engine House and Chimney Stack. There are some fascinating structures in Callington including the hotel, churches, old police station and the Erskine Bridge.
places of interest
See the remains of the mining era including the Explosives Hut, Settling Tanks, Engine House & Chimney Stack and also fascinating structures including the hotel, old police station and the Erskine Bridge.
Callington Memorial Oval and Tennis Courts
Callington Road, Callington
2 ovals, tennis courts
Callington Township Plan
Mount Barker District Council and the Rural City of Murray Bridge have endorsed a Township Plan for Callington. The plan was developed in association with the community to provide a long term vision for the town, identifying key objectives and priorities across a number of themes to ensure that the town continues to develop as a highly liveable place.
For further information, please contact Nathan Franklin, Strategic Planner via email on firstname.lastname@example.org or via phone on (08) 8391 7208.